5 reasons why I love living in Germany

22 May

Yes I’ve been a bad blogger lately, it’s been a weird time, decisions, lots of traveling and lots of guests have come through our apartment in the last couple of weeks and I’ve just not been able to sit down and write like I’ve wanted to. In the next few months exciting things will be happening and as soon as I can share them I will share them here, watch this space.

So for today I thought I’d write a favourites list, what can I say? the endless sun is so uplifting (and sweaty) at the moment that all the shite is invisible.

Public transport – Be it via train, tram, bus, underground or a combination of all of them I can get pretty much anywhere I want locally or nationally using public transport, and the prices are so cheap (compared with GB anyway).

Lifestyle – work at work, don’t share personal issues, holiday plans or talk about last nights TV in the office, a simple “did you have a good weekend?” will suffice, save talking about your outside life for after work beers at 5pm. Unlike a lot of companies (large and small) in the UK, small talk and chat, heck even Facebook is a part of working life but you are also expected to stay until the work is finished and a lot of the time how good you look in front of the boss depends on how many nights he saw you working late this week. I kid you not plenty of friends leave their jackets on their chairs and their computer screens on so that the boss thinks that they are in the office! Staying late at the office in Germany consistently can have the opposite effect, your boss might worry that you can’t cope with the workload and the Betriebsrat (Works council) can fine your employer and you for working over the number of hours that has been agreed. Your own time however, is your own. BUT Germans use their own time productively (maybe because they have so much of it?) Being a member of a Verein (club) is very popular (even I am) and the clubs range from football and sporty pursuits to music and handicrafts, it really is a great way to meet people, improve your German and settle into your new home.

Location – Being slap bang in the middle of Europe instead of having to cross that pesky old channel has made getting away much easier and affordable for us. Having a car makes this slightly easier but the train system across Europe is pretty efficient and the some flights are so insanely cheap that they basically dictate your holiday plans.

Beer – It’s not just cheap it’s astonishingly cheap, it’s not just delicious it’s delightfully delicious and it’s everywhere. While there isn’t as much variation as there could be,  I do miss not having to pay through the nose for an imported IPA every now and again but the fact I can go down to my favourite brewery (who do THE best beer) with my two litre krug and have it refilled for 5 euro, well, it’s not rocket science is it? Without wanting to sound like a raging alcoholic I love the fact that I can order a beer with my breakfast and no one bats an eye, heck I can drag a case down to the park and wile away the day with my friends and their families, because I’m an adult and I can decide for myself when and what I drink. Thank you Germany for treating me like a grown up and letting me make that choice.

Celebrations – From Fasching to Frühling (spring), Easter to Weihnachten and everything inbetween, when the Germans let their hair down they do it with a sense of purposeful fun. Yes it’s just an excuse to get together with friends and family but it also means that you are part of the larger celebration involving everyone around you, a sense of belonging and connection to your town, Bavaria, and Germany.

I could go on and on about my loves today, blame the weather. What do you love about Germany?

 

16 Responses to “5 reasons why I love living in Germany”

  1. foodessen May 22, 2014 at 10:07 am #

    I love walking places here, there are so many possibilities compared to in the States. Actually I think just the fact that people don’t look at me like Oh No she doesn’t have a car, because I think in the States that’s pretty much what we think when we see people walking. I love the pretzels here, they are one of my top favorites and Streuselkuchen (the plain and boring kind is my favorite). Since I’m a plain water drinker I miss free water with my meals like back home but this allows me to indulge in the very affordable beer that you pointed out (I like Radler too)!

  2. Expat Eye May 22, 2014 at 12:45 pm #

    I love that I’m moving there soon for all of the above reasons! I was already in a good mood today – now it’s even better! 🙂

  3. justanotherdayintheworld May 22, 2014 at 4:12 pm #

    I love the beautiful gardens which seem so well-tended, no matter the season!

    • The Erlangen Expat May 23, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

      Very well tended I agree, but our hausmeister is a little too fond of his ride on mower at 8am for my liking 😉

  4. Kataya May 22, 2014 at 5:09 pm #

    Haribo und schweinshaxe

  5. Niranjan gowda May 23, 2014 at 3:40 am #

    Good part about germany are these three words
    Personal life- No one give a damn to whatever you do, as listed above we know what to choose for ourselves.
    Partying- I should add that i always feel jealous to see german people enjoying somuch, my question is why can’t we do that back in my country where people are always worried and worried about their life.
    When they do it, they do it perfectly.

    • The Erlangen Expat May 23, 2014 at 6:26 pm #

      I’m in agreement in the main, I still think Silvester is freaking scary though, so many fireworks!

  6. heatherinde May 23, 2014 at 6:10 pm #

    “Without wanting to sound like a raging alcoholic I love the fact that I can order a beer with my breakfast and no one bats an eye, heck I can drag a case down to the park and wile away the day with my friends and their families, because I’m an adult and I can decide for myself when and what I drink.”

    Couldn’t have said it better myself. And Germany needs to get on the IPA bandwagon, stat!

    • The Erlangen Expat May 23, 2014 at 6:19 pm #

      Have you you been to Stuttgart? They had some pretty good IPAs when we visited, who knew?

      • heatherinde May 24, 2014 at 10:52 pm #

        Two or three times but the visits were a few years ago. I may have to look into it though if they’ve got IPAs. We had a couple in France last weekend but it was at a fest and they didn’t have any bottled to buy. 😦

      • The Erlangen Expat May 25, 2014 at 10:05 am #

        Sophie’s Brauhaus and Brauhaus Schönbuch both did lovely IPAs, I only we’d been there longer than a weekend 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Reasons I Love Living in Germany | Young Germany - June 2, 2015

    […] post was originally published on The Erlangen Expat and was used here with permission of the […]

I always love to hear from people, past, present and future expats and everyone in between. Go on leave a comment.....

